X-Mas Death Jazz

Gentle Art of Music, 2017

X-Mas Death JazzOn X-Mas Death Jazz Panzerballett this time utilize universally known Christmas songs from all over the world such as White Christmas, German classic Leise rieselt der Schnee as well as Last Christmas. However, the jazz-metal impresarios show no mercy so that, except for the basic tone progression, no stone is left unturned – none whatsoever. Once again Panzerballett utilize their self-perfected concept of “Verkrassung” (“extremization”) and thus create jazz metal monsters that fuse technical force with the warmth of ease. The musicians’ virtuoso skills add to a record that does not only have something to say but is also an enormous amount of fun. X-Mas Death Jazz can be summed up in few words: Hooray, de-christmatized Christmas! Panzerballett have evolved from the status of the insider’s tip a long time ago, which is why it is no surprise that guest musicians like Mattias ‘IA’ Eklundh (Freak Kitchen, Steve Vai), Mike Keneally (Frank Zappa, Joe Satriani), Jen Majura (Evanescence) or Steffen Kummerer (Obscura) – a raft of glitzy names – have agreed to be part of X-Mas Death Jazz.


01. White Christmas [feat. Mattias ‘IA’ Eklundh, Jen Majura]
02. Kling, Glöckchen
03. Little Drummer Boy
04. Es kommt bald [feat. Martin Strasser]
05. Last Christmas
06. Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer [feat. Mattias ‘IA’ Eklundh]
07. For Whom The Jingle Bells Toll
08. Let It Snow [feat. Mike Keneally, Steffen Kummerer]
09. White Christmas (inst)
10. Rudolph, The Red-Nosed Reindeer (inst)
11. Es kommt bald (inst)
12. Let It Snow (inst)


Jan Zehrfeld – guitars (all tracks)
Joe Doblhofer – guitar solos (3, 10), guitar synth solos (8, 12)
Alexander von Hagke – sax
Heiko Jung – bass
Sebastian Lanser – drums


White Christmas
(feat. Mattias ‘IA’ Eklundh & Jen Majura)